Candidate Eligibility

Candidate Qualifications

A person may be nominated for an office only if, as of the day the individual files a nomination paper, he or she is:

  1. 18 years of age or older; and
  2. A Canadian citizen; and
  3. A resident of the Township of Blandford-Blenheim OR an owner or tenant of land in the Township of Blandford-Blenheim OR the spouse of such a person; and
  4. Eligible to vote.

Qualifications

Sections 256 and 257 of the Municipal Act, 2001 states:

256. Every person is qualified to be elected or to hold office as a member of a council of a local municipality,

a. who is entitled to be an elector in the local municipality under section 17 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996; and

b. who is not disqualified by this or any other Act from holding the office.

257. Every person is qualified to be elected or to hold office as a member of a council of an upper-tier municipality,

a. who is entitled to be an elector in a lower-tier municipality within the upper-tier municipality under section 17 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996; and

b. who is not disqualified by this or any other Act from holding the office.


Disqualification of a Member of Council

Section 258 of theMunicipal Act, 2001 states:

Ineligible

258.(1) The following are not eligible to be elected as a member of a council or to hold office as a member of a council:

  1. Except in accordance with section 30 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, as follows:
  • an employee of the municipality,
  • a person who is not an employee of the municipality but who is the clerk, treasurer, Integrity Commissioner, Auditor General, Ombudsman or registrar referred to in section 223.11 or an investigator referred to in subsection 239.2 (1)of the municipality, or
  • a person who is not an employee of the municipality but who holds any administrative position of the municipality.
  • A judge of any court.
  • A member of the Assembly as provided in the Legislative Assembly Act or of the Senate or House of Commons of Canada.
  • Except in accordance with Part V of the Public Service of Ontario Act and any regulation made under that Part, a public servant within the meaning of that Act.

Disqualification

258.(2 )A member of council of a municipality is disqualified from holding office if, at any timeduring the term of office of thatmember, he or she,

a. ceases to be a Canadian citizen;

b. is not a resident, the owner or tenant of land or the spouse of an owner or tenant of land in the municipality, in the case ofa member of council of a local municipality, or in a lower-tier municipality within the upper-tier municipality, in the case of amember of council of an upper-tier municipality; or

c. would be prohibited under this or any other Act from voting in an election for the office of member of council of themunicipality if an election was held at that time.

Information regarding Section 30 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996 as mentioned under Section 258(1)1 pertaining to an employee of a municipality or local board be found in Section C, page 13 of this guide.

Information from the Ministry of Municipal Affairs:

Township Staff
Chief Building Official
John Scherer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 230
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jscherer@ezt.ca
Deputy Chief Building Official
Robert Kelly
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 228
Fax: 519-463-5881
Building Inspector / Property Standards Enforcement Officer
Kate Jancsar
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 229
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kjancsar@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Planner
Rebecca Smith
Phone: 519-539-9800 ex 3211
Email: rsmith@oxfordcounty.ca
 
Drainage Superintendent
Jim Harmer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 233
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jharmer@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
CAO/Clerk
Rodger Mordue
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 227
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rmordue@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 222
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 

 
Director of Finance/Treasurer
Denise Krug
Treasury, Budgeting, Financial Reporting & Planning
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 224
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: dkrug@blandfordblenheim.ca
Deputy Treasurer/Revenue Co-ordinator
Katie Koski
Accounts Receivable, Payroll, Property Tax Administrator
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 225
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kkoski@blandfordblenheim.ca
Finance/ Customer Service Clerk
Pamela Kent
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 221
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email:pkent@blandfordblenheim.ca
 

 
Director of Protective Services
Fire Chief
Rick Richardson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 223
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rrichardson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Protective Services Administrator
Michelle VanWyk
Protective Services Administration / CEMC
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 232
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: mvanwyk@blandfordblenheim.ca
Director of Public Works
Jim Borton
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 226
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jborton@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Road Supervisor
Ryan Nechelput
Drumbo Shop: 519-463-5389
email: roads@blandfordblenheim.ca
Manager of Community Services
Ken Wood
Administration, Management, Project Planning
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
Email: kwood@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Facility Operations Lead Hand
Trevor Baer
Arena Contact, Maintenance Lead
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
facility@blandfordblenheim.ca