Municipal Elections take place every four years in accordance with the Municipal Elections Act. The next election to elect a Mayor, Councillors and School Board Trustees will be held on October 22, 2018. The next term of Council begins on December 1 ,2018 and ends in November, 2022.

View the official list of candidates for Blandford-Blenheim Council

Important Dates

The Municipal Election will be held on Monday October 22, 2018.

Register as a Candidate:
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 to Friday, July 27, 2018
Candidates can file a nomination paper and supporting signatures starting May 1, 2018 during business hours (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) up until Nomination Day on July 27, 2018, when the deadline to submit is 2:00 p.m.

Nomination Day:
Friday July 27, 2018 (to 2:00 p.m.)
Deadline for filing or withdrawing nominations: Nominations may be filed only between the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Candidates may also withdraw nomination papers, in writing, before 2:00 p.m.
First day signs may be erected for Candidates.

Election Day:
Monday October 22, 2018 (10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.)
Voting places will be open from 10:00 a.m.closing at 8:00 p.m.

Municipal Offices to be Elected


One (1) to be elected, at large within the Township. Also serves as member of County of Oxford Council.

Township Councillors:

Four (4) to be elected, at large within the Township.

Trustees to be Elected:

  • Thames Valley District School Board - two positions available;
  • London District Catholic School Board - one position available;
  • Conseil scolaire catholique Providence - one position available for the counties of Oxford, Perth and Grey (file with the City of Woodstock); and,
  • Conseil scolaire Viamonde - one position available for the counties of Oxford, Elgin, Lambton, Haldimand, Norfolk and the Municipality of Chatham-Kent (file with the City of Sarnia).
Township Staff
Chief Building Official
John Scherer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 230
Fax: 519-463-5881
Deputy Chief Building Official
Robert Kelly
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 228
Fax: 519-463-5881
Building Inspector / Property Standards Enforcement Officer

Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 229
Fax: 519-463-5881
Rebecca Smith
Phone: 519-539-9800 ex 3211
Drainage Superintendent
Jim Harmer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 233
Fax: 519-463-5881
Rodger Mordue
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 227
Fax: 519-463-5881
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 222
Fax: 519-463-5881

Director of Finance/Treasurer
Denise Krug
Treasury, Budgeting, Financial Reporting & Planning
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 224
Fax: 519-463-5881
Deputy Treasurer/Revenue Co-ordinator
Katie Koski
Accounts Receivable, Payroll, Property Tax Administrator
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 225
Fax: 519-463-5881
Finance/ Customer Service Clerk
Pamela Kent
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 221
Fax: 519-463-5881

Director of Protective Services
Fire Chief
Rick Richardson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 223
Fax: 519-463-5881
Protective Services Administrator
Michelle VanWyk
Protective Services Administration / CEMC
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 232
Fax: 519-463-5881
Director of Public Works
Jim Borton
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 226
Fax: 519-463-5881
Road Supervisor
Ryan Nechelput
Drumbo Shop: 519-463-5389
Manager of Community Services

Administration, Management, Project Planning
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
Facility Operations Lead Hand
Trevor Baer
Arena Contact, Maintenance Lead
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886